Performance
Chico High — Academic Performance
Standardised assessments, graduation outcomes and college-readiness metrics for Chico High in Chico, California.
Headline Indicator
—
Data not yet captured
Science (CAST)
California Science Test, percentage meeting or exceeding the standard, 2025
CAASPP
48%
Met or exceeded the standard
2025
16%
Exceeded the standard
415
Students tested
| Grade | Met or exceeded | Exceeded | Tested |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 11 | 49% | 16% | 406 |
Source: test_scores, CAASPP science results for 2025. Percentages are of students with a reported score. Results for very small groups are suppressed by the state and show as -.
Results by Student Group
CAASPP 2025, percentage meeting or exceeding the standard for each reported student group
| Student group | English Language Arts | Mathematics | Science |
|---|---|---|---|
| All students | 75% 414 tested | 40% 409 tested | 48% 415 tested |
| Gender | |||
| Female | 80% 189 tested | 37% 185 tested | 51% 188 tested |
| Male | 70% 223 tested | 42% 222 tested | 46% 225 tested |
| Race and ethnicity | |||
| Asian | 63% 16 tested | 31% 16 tested | 47% 17 tested |
| Black or African American | 45% 11 tested | 18% 11 tested | 18% 11 tested |
| Hispanic or Latino | 66% 132 tested | 25% 131 tested | 32% 139 tested |
| White | 84% 207 tested | 53% 203 tested | 61% 201 tested |
| Two or more races | 67% 39 tested | 28% 39 tested | 47% 38 tested |
| Socioeconomic status | |||
| Economically disadvantaged | 69% 236 tested | 30% 233 tested | 41% 237 tested |
| Not economically disadvantaged | 82% 178 tested | 53% 176 tested | 59% 178 tested |
| Homeless | 50% 26 tested | 8% 26 tested | 14% 28 tested |
| English learners | |||
| English learners | 0% 20 tested | 0% 19 tested | 0% 22 tested |
| English learners, 12 months or more | 0% 18 tested | 0% 17 tested | 0% 19 tested |
| Reclassified fluent English proficient | 72% 57 tested | 21% 56 tested | 28% 58 tested |
| Initial fluent English proficient | 92% 13 tested | 67% 12 tested | 71% 14 tested |
| Ever an English learner | 53% 77 tested | 16% 75 tested | 20% 80 tested |
| Never an English learner | 80% 337 tested | 45% 334 tested | 55% 335 tested |
| English only | 79% 324 tested | 44% 322 tested | 55% 321 tested |
| Disability | |||
| Students with disabilities | 20% 49 tested | 6% 49 tested | 10% 48 tested |
| No reported disability | 82% 365 tested | 44% 360 tested | 53% 367 tested |
| Parent education | |||
| Parent not a high school graduate | 65% 23 tested | 17% 23 tested | 24% 21 tested |
| Parent high school graduate | 58% 52 tested | 22% 51 tested | 29% 55 tested |
| Parent some college | 79% 61 tested | 33% 61 tested | 43% 63 tested |
| Parent college graduate | 79% 151 tested | 48% 148 tested | 57% 147 tested |
| Parent graduate school | 80% 103 tested | 50% 102 tested | 58% 104 tested |
View 14 further student groups reported by the state
| Student group | English Language Arts | Mathematics | Science |
|---|---|---|---|
| Not armed forces family member | 75% 414 tested | 40% 409 tested | 48% 415 tested |
| Not foster youth | 75% 413 tested | 40% 408 tested | 49% 414 tested |
| Not migrant education | 75% 413 tested | 40% 408 tested | 49% 414 tested |
| Fluent English proficient and English only | 79% 394 tested | 42% 390 tested | 51% 393 tested |
| Not homeless | 77% 388 tested | 42% 383 tested | 51% 387 tested |
| White (Not Econ. Disadvantaged) | 87% 124 tested | 61% 122 tested | 65% 121 tested |
| Hispanic or Latino (Econ. Disadvantaged) | 66% 103 tested | 22% 102 tested | 30% 108 tested |
| White (Econ. Disadvantaged) | 80% 83 tested | 42% 81 tested | 54% 80 tested |
| Hispanic or Latino (Not Econ. Disadvantaged) | 66% 29 tested | 38% 29 tested | 42% 31 tested |
| Parent education declined to state | 67% 24 tested | 25% 24 tested | 33% 24 tested |
| Two or more races (Not Econ. Disadvantaged) | 70% 20 tested | 35% 20 tested | 43% 21 tested |
| Two or more races (Econ. Disadvantaged) | 63% 19 tested | 21% 19 tested | 53% 17 tested |
| Asian (Econ. Disadvantaged) | 54% 13 tested | 31% 13 tested | 43% 14 tested |
| Black or African American (Econ. Disadvantaged) | 45% 11 tested | 18% 11 tested | 18% 11 tested |
Source: test_scores, CAASPP 2025 student group breakdown. Groups the state suppresses for privacy, or that are too small to report, show as - rather than zero. Groups overlap, so the figures do not sum to the all students row.
English Learner Proficiency (ELPAC)
English Language Proficiency Assessments for California, summative overall performance, 2025
2025
14%
Level 4, well developed
The level used towards reclassification
2025
38%
Level 3 or 4, moderately or well developed
93
English learners tested
| Grade | Tested | Level 1 | Level 2 | Level 3 | Level 4 | Level 3 or 4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grade 9 | 26 | 12% | 46% | 27% | 15% | 42% |
| Grade 10 | 30 | 33% | 27% | 23% | 17% | 40% |
| Grade 11 | 20 | 35% | 30% | 25% | 10% | 35% |
| Grade 12 | 17 | 29% | 41% | 18% | 12% | 29% |
Level 1 Minimally developed. Level 2 Somewhat developed. Level 3 Moderately developed. Level 4 Well developed.
View ELPAC by student group (22 groups)
| Student group | Tested | Level 1 | Level 2 | Level 3 | Level 4 | Level 3 or 4 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ELs enrolled 12 months or more | 87 | 24% | 38% | 24% | 14% | 38% |
| Economically Disadvantaged | 83 | 27% | 37% | 23% | 13% | 36% |
| Primary language: Spanish | 78 | 32% | 32% | 22% | 14% | 36% |
| Hispanic or Latino | 75 | 33% | 32% | 21% | 13% | 35% |
| No Special Education Services | 60 | 25% | 27% | 28% | 20% | 48% |
| Female | 48 | 21% | 42% | 27% | 10% | 38% |
| EL - 6+ years in program | 45 | 13% | 51% | 27% | 9% | 36% |
| Male | 45 | 33% | 29% | 20% | 18% | 38% |
| LTEL | 40 | 15% | 43% | 25% | 18% | 43% |
| Special Education Services | 33 | 30% | 52% | 15% | 3% | 18% |
| Homeless | 24 | 50% | 25% | 17% | 8% | 25% |
| EL - 1 year in program | 15 | 53% | 27% | 0% | 20% | 20% |
| Asian | 12 | 0% | 58% | 33% | 8% | 42% |
| At-Risk of LTEL | 11 | 18% | 9% | 55% | 18% | 73% |
| EL - 2 years in program | 11 | 27% | 36% | 18% | 18% | 36% |
| Not Economically Disadvantaged | 10 | - | - | - | - | - |
| EL - 5 years in program | 8 | - | - | - | - | - |
| EL - less than 1 year in program | 7 | - | - | - | - | - |
| ELs enrolled fewer than 12 months | 6 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Primary language: Hmong | 6 | - | - | - | - | - |
| Primary language: All remaining languages | 5 | - | - | - | - | - |
| EL - 4 years in program | 4 | - | - | - | - | - |
Source: school_elpac, California Department of Education summative ELPAC 2025. Percentages are of English learners with a reported overall performance level. Grades and groups too small to report are suppressed by the state and show as -, which is not the same as zero.
Graduation Rate
High-school adjusted cohort graduation rates — most recent year
View graduation by subgroup (120 rows)
| Year | Cohort | Subgroup | Cohort Size | % Grad |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 451 | 93% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Asian · All | 19 | 90% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Children with disabilities · All | 64 | 83% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Economically Disadvantaged · All | 296 | 96% |
| 2025 | 4YR | English Learner · All | 31 | 77% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Female · All | 229 | 94% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Hispanic/Latino · All | 136 | 95% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Homeless · All | 42 | 93% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Male · All | 222 | 91% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All | 30 | 87% |
| 2025 | 4YR | Not Reported · All | 11 | 55% |
| 2025 | 4YR | White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All | 242 | 93% |
| 2024 | — | All Students in School · All | 482 | 95% |
| 2023 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 409 | 97% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Asian · All | 19 | 100% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Black (not Hispanic) African American · All | 11 | 91% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Children with disabilities · All | 45 | 91% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Economically Disadvantaged · All | 242 | 97% |
| 2023 | 4YR | English Learner · All | 21 | 91% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Female · All | 216 | 97% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Hispanic/Latino · All | 103 | 97% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Homeless · All | 30 | 93% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Male · All | 192 | 98% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All | 17 | 94% |
| 2023 | 4YR | Not Reported · All | 13 | 100% |
| 2023 | 4YR | White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All | 235 | 97% |
| 2022 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 422 | 94% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Asian · All | 24 | 100% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Black (not Hispanic) African American · All | 12 | 92% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Children with disabilities · All | 59 | 81% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Economically Disadvantaged · All | 269 | 94% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Female · All | 215 | 96% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Hispanic/Latino · All | 117 | 94% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Homeless · All | 47 | 94% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Male · All | 203 | 92% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All | 15 | 87% |
| 2022 | 4YR | Not Reported · All | 14 | 93% |
| 2022 | 4YR | White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All | 233 | 94% |
| 2021 | 4yr_ACGR | All Students · All Students in School | 367 | 96% |
| 2021 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 367 | 96% |
| 2021 | 4YR | American Indian/Alaska Native/Native American · All | 5 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Asian/Pacific Islander · All | 20 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Black (not Hispanic) African American · All | 12 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Children with disabilities · All | 46 | 85% |
| 2021 | 4YR | Economically Disadvantaged · All | 203 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | English Learner · All | 12 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Foster care students · All | 3 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Hispanic/Latino · All | 78 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Homeless · All | 39 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All | 18 | — |
| 2021 | 4YR | White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All | 234 | — |
| 2020 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 432 | 90% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Asian · All | 20 | 95% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Black (not Hispanic) African American · All | 19 | 95% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Children with disabilities · All | 60 | 60% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Economically Disadvantaged · All | 213 | 88% |
| 2020 | 4YR | English Learner · All | 20 | 70% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Female · All | 217 | 90% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Hispanic/Latino · All | 102 | 90% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Homeless · All | 39 | 87% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Male · All | 215 | 90% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All | 13 | 85% |
| 2020 | 4YR | Not Reported · All | 17 | 94% |
| 2020 | 4YR | White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All | 251 | 89% |
| 2019 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 432 | 90% |
| 2019 | 4YR | American Indian/Alaska Native/Native American · All | 8 | 75% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Asian · All | 22 | 90% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Black (not Hispanic) African American · All | 19 | 90% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Children with disabilities · All | 60 | 64% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Economically Disadvantaged · All | 213 | 87% |
| 2019 | 4YR | English Learner · All | 20 | 69% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Foster care students · All | 9 | 75% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Hispanic/Latino · All | 102 | 92% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Homeless · All | 39 | 84% |
| 2019 | 4YR | Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other · All | 30 | 90% |
| 2019 | 4YR | White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) · All | 251 | 87% |
| 2018 | 4YR | All Students in School · All | 458 | 93% |
| 2018 | 4YR | American Indian/Alaska Native/Native American · All | 4 | — |
| 2018 | 4YR | Asian · All | 25 | 90% |
| 2018 | 4YR | Black (not Hispanic) African American · All | 12 | 75% |
University Eligibility and Diploma Seals
A to G course completion and diploma seals for the 2025 four year adjusted cohort
2025
45%
Met UC and CSU entrance requirements (A to G)
Eligible to apply to a UC or CSU campus
2025
28%
State Seal of Biliteracy
2025
38%
Golden State Seal Merit Diploma
2025
5%
Cohort dropout rate
Cohort of 451 students. 93% graduated (CDE cohort measure, 2025). 0% still enrolled.
View A to G completion by student group (12 groups)
| Student group | Cohort | Graduated | A to G | Biliteracy | Dropout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All Students in School | 451 | 93% | 45% | 28% | 5% |
| Economically Disadvantaged | 296 | 96% | 33% | 21% | 3% |
| White or Caucasian (not Hispanic) | 242 | 93% | 56% | 29% | 5% |
| Female | 229 | 94% | 55% | 38% | 4% |
| Male | 222 | 91% | 35% | 18% | 6% |
| Hispanic/Latino | 136 | 95% | 24% | 27% | 2% |
| Children with disabilities | 64 | 83% | 9% | 0% | 2% |
| Homeless | 42 | 93% | 15% | 15% | 7% |
| English Learner | 31 | 77% | 8% | 4% | 13% |
| Multicultural/Multiethnic/Multiracial/other | 30 | 87% | 58% | 27% | 7% |
| Asian | 19 | 90% | 53% | 24% | 11% |
| Not Reported | 11 | 55% | 83% | 67% | 46% |
View earlier cohorts (3 years)
| Cohort year | Cohort | Graduated | A to G | Biliteracy | Golden State Seal | Dropout |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 409 | 97% | 46% | 24% | 40% | 2% |
| 2022 | 422 | 94% | 46% | 0% | 30% | 3% |
| 2020 | 432 | 90% | 44% | 19% | 25% | 6% |
Source: school_grad_outcomes, California Department of Education four year adjusted cohort outcomes for 2025. A to G refers to the subject requirements a student must complete to be eligible to apply to the University of California and California State University systems. Rates the department suppresses for small cohorts show as -.
SAT / ACT Participation
College-readiness exams from CRDC and state files
CRDC 2021
40
CRDC: total SAT/ACT takers
Sources: state assessment files (EDFacts), school_graduation_v2 (NCES adjusted-cohort), school_sat_act + CRDC SAT/ACT.